Mi Buenos Aires Querido

Geography of Argentina

Geografia Argentina GeographyLocation of Argentina

Argentina’s territory is completely located in the Southern and Western hemispheres, forming the southernmost portion of South America.

Its location is strategic with regards to maritime territories lying between the South Atlantic and the South Pacific Oceans (Strait of Magellan, Beagle Channel, Drake Passage).

Ubicación de Argentina en el mundo / Localização da Argentina no mundo / Location of Argentina in the world

Area of Argentina

Argentina’s total area covers 3,745,247 sq km, out of which 2,780,400 sq km correspond to the American continent and 964,847 sq km to the Antarctic continent. Nevetheless, it is worth noting that Argentine official and nonofficial sources also include the territory of the Falklands/Malvinas Islands (under dispute with the UK), increasing the country’s total area up to 3,761,274 sq km.

Argentina is the eight largest country in the world (seventh if we consider its Antarctic portion), and the fourth largest in the American continent (after Canada, the US and Brazil).

Map of Argentina

Argentina’s current administrative division establishes twenty-three provinces and a federal district – the Autonomous City of Buenos Aires (double click on the map to see where each province is located):

1. Jujuy
2. Salta
3. Formosa
4. Catamarca
5. Tucumán
6. Santiago del Estero
7. Chaco
8. Corrientes
9. Misiones
10. San Juan
11. La Rioja
12. Córdoba
13. Santa Fe
14. Entre Ríos
15. Mendoza
16. San Luis
17. La Pampa
18. Buenos Aires
19. Neuquén
20. Río Negro
21. Chubut
22. Santa Cruz
23. Tierra del Fuego

Boundaries and Extreme Points of Argentina

Argentina’s total boundary area reaches 9,376 km, with 5 neighboring countries – Chile, Bolivia, Paraguay, Brazil and Uruguay. The larger border is shared with Chile (5,150 km), along the whole Andean Mountains.

Bounded on the north by Bolivia and Paraguay, the northernmost point being the confluence of the Grande River (province of San Juan) with the Mojinere River (province of Jujuy).

Bounded on the south by Chile and the Atlantic Ocean, the southernmost point being San Pío Cape, located at Grande Island (province of Tierra del Fuego).

Bounded on the east by Brazil, Uruguay and the Atlantic Ocean. The easternmost point is located in the northeast of a small district called Bernardo de Irigoyen (province of Misiones).

Bounded on the west by Chile. The westernmost point is located between Agassis Hills and Bolados Hills, in Los Glaciares National Park (province of Santa Cruz).

Geographical Regions of Argentina

PampaGeografia Argentina Geography - Pampa, Buenos AiresThe Pampa covers the country’s central-eastern region, including the provinces of Buenos Aires, Córdoba, Santa Fe and La Pampa. At sea level it is a huge plain of intensive agricultural activity, but as we move inwards it rises up into incredible hills and mountains. It is considered one of the most fertile lands in the world. Temperate and humid climate.
NoresteGeografia Argentina Geography - Noreste (Cataratas de Iguazu, Iguazu Falls, Misiones)Argentina’s northeast encompasses the provinces of Misiones, Corrientes, Entre Ríos, Chaco and Formosa. It is largely characterized by the watershed formed by the Uruguay and Paraná rivers, sharing with Brazil the amazing Iguazu Falls. Rainforest area, with abundant flora and fauna and the presence of indigenous peoples. Subtropical climate.
NoroesteGeografia Argentina Geography - Noroeste (Quebrada de Humahuaca, Jujuy)The northwest region neighbors with Bolivia and Chile, and includes the provinces of Jujuy, Salta, Catamarca, Tucumán, La Rioja and Santiago del Estero. Mountain-like, mineral-rich soil. Scenery of colorful valleys and ravines, such as Quebrada de Humahuaca and the Cafayate Valley. Warm, desert-like climate, receiving sunlight all year round.
CuyoGeografia Argentina Geography - Cuyo (Uvas Malbec, Mendoza)Andean region demarcated by the provinces of Mendoza, San Juan and San Luis. Cuyo is home to Mount Aconcagua, the highest point in the Western Hemisphere. Fertile mountain area, with abundant mineral and thermal springs and the most appropriate lands for vineyards and fruit trees. Semi-arid climate, with cold winters and hot summers.
PatagoniaGeografia Argentina Geography - Patagonia (Glaciar Geleira Glacier Perito Moreno, Santa Cruz)It fills the southern half of the country, encompassing the provinces of Neuquén, Río Negro, Chubut, Santa Cruz and Tierra del Fuego. The landscape is dominated by plateaus, mountains, lakes, woodlands and glaciers, while the fauna includes penguins and whales. Cold, humid climate, with intense snowfall. Low population density, with only 2,2 inhabitants per sq km.